Most Peaceful Countries

Emigrate To A Peaceful And Safe Country

Most Peaceful and Safest Nations in The World In 2023 (Global Peace Index and Security Index)

The Global Peace Index (GPI) was developed by the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies at the University of Sydney, the Economist Intelligence Unit and international peace experts and institutions. 

The Global Peace Index (in 2023) covers 163 countries using 23 qualitative  and quantitative indicators which is collected by highly respected sources. The main parameters of peace were measured across tthree major domains: the level of security and societal safety; the extent of ongoing domestic and international conflict and the degree of Militarisation in the country.

Various indicators were then evaluated, such as relations with other countries, international conflicts, participation of women, freedom of the press, civil liberties, the functioning of parliament, life expectancy, unemployment, the proportion of young people and gender distribution.

Map of the Global Peace Index categories in the world as of 16th june' 2022

Map of the Global Peace Index categories in the world as of 16th june’ 2022 (countries appearing with a deeper shade of green are ranked as more peaceful, countries appearing more red are ranked as more violent) –

Source :  Blank map: File:World map (Miller cylindrical projection, blank).svg by Allice Hunter

Global Peace Index 2023

The 20 most peaceful nations according to this index in 2023 are:

  1. Iceland
  2. Denmark
  3. Ireland
  4. New Zealand
  5. Austria
  6. Singapore
  7. Portugal
  8. Slovenia
  9. Japan
  10. Switzerland
  11. Canada
  12. Czechia (Czech Republic)
  13. Finland
  14. Croatia
  15. Germany
  16. Netherlands
  17. Bhutan
  18. Hungary
  19. Malaysia
  20. Belgium 

Security Index 2022

The crime index and the security index are based on surveys of visitors to the website The questions are comparable to scientific and government surveys.

The crime index reflects how serious the residents perceive the crime of the city or the country. The safety index is a reverse of the crime index. A high safety index means high safety in the city.

The following 25 countries were rated as the safest countries :

  1. Qatar
  2. United Arab Emirates
  3. Taiwan
  4. Isle of Man
  5. Oman
  6. Switzerland
  7. Hong Kong
  8. Armenia
  9. Japan
  10. Slovenia
  11. Iceland
  12. Estonia
  13. Croatia
  14. Rwanda
  15. Georgia
  16. Bahrain
  17. Saudi Arabia
  18. Monaco
  19. Czech Republic
  20. Austria
  21. South Korea
  22. Denmark
  23. Finland
  24. Singapore
  25. Netherlands
Scroll to Top